Posted by: blinklove | June 10, 2010

Why are You Reading This?

Why do you read this blog?
No seriously, you have lots of things to do. Why are you spending it on this blog…

Well, if you are anything like me, you relish and crave the updates that Heather and Stephen send back from their Blink Love adventures in the great outdoors… and for many reasons.

First and foremost, I like to know that this crazy couple is alive and well, merely snapping photos of lions, tigers, bears, and other such creatures that could cause them harm… not being harmed by them, the extreme temperatures that they face, the ridiculous terrains that they traverse, or running out of food in the middle of nowhere, (and if you have ever had a meal with Heather and/or Stephen, then you know how much food these somehow skinny beings can pack away).

Secondly, I look forward to seeing the Blink updates pop up in my email inbox* because it reminds me just how beautiful and simple the world can still be….even while I sit in the midst of the mayhem that happens office. Heather and Stephen are amazing human beings who spread love and happiness wherever they may wander, but they also have a knack for reminding us all that the rat race that most of us run is not the only option that we have. I may not be able to vacate my desk chair and hike for six straight months, (at least not this week), but in strange ways, I get to live vicariously through the adventures embark on daily. It is such a blessing that these two allow us all to share in their experiences with such eloquent and vivid descriptions, stories, photos, and videos.

*Insert shameless plug here: You too can have the wonderful sensation of reading the Blink’s Blog updates immediately after they are published as well! Simply subscribe to the blog in the right hand column of this page by inserting your email address and hitting the “Sign Me Up!” button.

Lastly, (but not leastly), I read for the reason that they hike. I care about the causes for which Heather and Stephen walk mile after seemingly endless mile. Every penny that is donated to Blink’s Hike is donated to a charitable organization that will use the money to better the lives of animals that would otherwise suffer and perhaps not live without the support generated by people like Heather and Stephen. Their passion is inspiring. Their causes are of note. You can read more about the three beneficiary organizations of Blink’s Hike 2010 by visiting the Happenings page at BlinkLove.org

But that’s enough about me… I want to hear your story. Why do you read all about the BlinkLove Team? Why do you care? What’s the big deal?

Honestly, I want to know! Post your reasons for reading and caring about this cause in the comment field below. Or if you have a really long and fantastic story to tell, email it to us at Heather@BlinkLove.com and we might be able to post it on the blog.

Well… lets hear it! Start typing and woo us all with your magical words.

-Allie

Responses

  1. My heart is in my throat over what has been written here – I second it all! As Heather’s mom, I like to know what she’s up to… But I also forget who is writing as I get caught up in their fantastic tales. Living in the wilderness is sooo not what i would like to do and I read to try and get a smidgen of understanding about why they like it. It’s all too amazing to me! I love the photos and videos and think Allie is doing a great job with the site. Thanks very much to you all!! And so much love to Cowboy Stephen & my Feather

  2. I read this blog because Heather Kierstead has showed me that angels exist in this world. She has taught me how to love everything and everyone. And she has taught me how to find something special about every single animal I meet. She inspired me to adopt a little kitty. She is the most amazing cowgirl alive and she just so happens to be my best friend.

    oh yeah…Stephen Dunn is her perfect cowboy.

  3. I read the blog because it reminds me of what is RIGHT in the world. These are 2 of the most amazingly positive people I know that not only really LOVE all animals, but care so much about everything and everyone. I really enjoy hearing about the latest experiences they are going through, and the fact that they update often is great. In a world where too many people are out for only themselves, it gives me such hope to see people like Heather and Stephen trying so hard to make a difference in the world.

    I have to bow to the BLINK LOVE CREW!!! They have touched the lives of so many people, and if you have not had the fortunate experience of meeting them, I do hope you get to one day… THANK YOU for the great updates Stephen and Heather! I MISS YOU GUYS SO MUCH.

    I care because the organizations that are benefitting from this incredible and sometimes dangerous hike (Forsyth Humane Society, FurEver Friends, and Best Friends Animal Society in Utah), are 3 of my favorite non-profit groups. I remember several years ago, a little girl was missing in North Carolina for a day or more, when a stray dog found her after she had fallen into a well. Even though the dog saved this child’s life, the county decided the dog was unadoptable, and he was scheduled to be euthanized. Best Friends stepped in and took this dog to their sanctuary where he could live out the rest of his life in a great environment. There are many wonderful stories from all of these organizations about the lives they have touched and the great work they are doing. Each one of these organization are not just about finding homes for the many unwanted animals, but are big in EDUCATING the public, and making this world a better place!!!

    What’s the big deal?
    One of the messages that the Blink Love crew is trying to get out is to give back…..Where most of us cannot go on an adventure like this, we can all do something. Get out and volunteer to help those less fortunate; blog with Blink Love (I’ve heard that they really like it when people blog with them); if you can spare a dollar or more, donate to Blink Love. Instead of giving a gift to someone that has everything, consider making a donation to Blink Love, and send a nice card stating that you made a donation in honor of them. It’s easy, and will make such a difference in the lives of so many.

  4. So why am I reading the post? Well, there are many reasons. First off, I’m happy to know Heather & Stephen are safe & sound and still on their journey. I love seeing the pics (that snake looked huge!) and it’s so interesting to hear how they get thru challenges like snowy peaks, etc. I’ve cared for my autistic stepson full time for the last 24 years and recently he got his very own house with a staff, so I’m just beginning to realize that there’s a whole world out there waiting for me to explore :-). I’m not sure I’m feeling quite adventurous enough at the moment to embark on a 6 month hike… but it sure is great to live vicariously thru Heather & Stephen and I feel inspired by their determination. I’ve been a member of Best Friend’s Animal Sanctuary for many years so I’m very much interested in helping animals and I love the charity aspect of the hike. So all in all, you guys are a true inspiration to this 43 year old empty nester who’s just beginning to test the waters of adventure in her own life :-). Keep up the good work and thanks for keeping us posted! Much love & good thoughts to you both!!

  5. Reason 1: I support this cause (by reading the blog) because I feel it represents young people taking responsability for what is theirs. This world, these animals & these people are yours!! I love the fact that you want them to be/ feel better and that you are getting involved.
    Reason 2: I read this bolg because i like adventures out in the wildlife!
    Reason 3: I also read it to know more about these two crazy characters i’m keen on.
    Reason 4: i like how is written.
    Besos! Chauuuu!!

  6. You have our name and website incorrect.
    it should be Forsyth Humane Society and
    the website is:
    http://forsythhumane.org/


Leave a Reply

Categories

