Posted by: blinklove | April 7, 2011

The Update

 

Hello everyone!

 It has been a while.  Hope all of you have been enjoying yourselves. 

 I wanted to announce the total amount of money raised from Blink’s Hike. 

Are you ready?

$16,353.95  to help animals in need!

Woot Woot!

Thank you so much, you made it happen!

The money is in the process of being donated –

40% to The Forsyth Humane Society’s “New Leash on Life” Program,

40% to Franklin and Peabody Morykwas Fur-Ever Friends General Fund,

and 20% to Best Friends Animal Society’s “Puppies Aren’t Products” Campaign.

Thank you!

******************************************************

A Blink’s Team Update: Charles is living with Stephen’s extended family.

 We are assured he is given a lot of attention, tons of love, and remains very happy.

~Cowboy Charles and Bodi~

Stephen is working in Winston-Salem. Upon our return to Winston, he joined the board of Fur-Ever Friends.  Together we coordinate Fur-Ever Friends volunteers for the animal shelter to keep the doors open on Sundays so he is there every weekend. He is a busy man! During his very little free time, he loves playing golf.

As for me, I am in the second week of my internship at Best Friends in Kanab, Utah.  It is INCREDIBLE.  There are five other interns, all girls, and we get along famously.  I am constantly astounded by how much we have in common.  One of the things I was looking forward to in coming out here was to be surrounded by like-minded people with a common goal.  It is just riveting to constantly be submerged in animal talk.  The people here are some of the most compassionate and motivated that  I have ever met.

~just one of the many adoptable adorables~

And oh, the animals! During the first week of our internship we spent time working in all the different animal areas (cats, horses, dogs, pigs, parrots, wildlife). I have decided I want to focus mainly on dogs, pigs, and parrots.  I have picked a project dog. His name is Chaplin and he is a big black Pit.  When going around the sanctuary and being introduced to all the project dogs we had the option of picking, he wasn’t immediately first on my list.  As his caregiver was telling us about how he has an issue with jumping up on people and mouthing (biting out of play and excitement) them, we turn to see him chewing on the metal bars of his cage.  I know you’re thinking, “Why wouldn’t she want the big Pit Bull that jumps and bites and trades Kongs for jail bars?” But yes, for some reason it took a little push to pick him.  I actually went back to ask again about his run mate, but the caregiver said, “Out of the two of them, Chaplin could really use it more”.

~thanks for picture from bestfriends.org of Chaplin~

What is a project dog?  A lot of work! =) No, something that I have been looking forward to.  A project animal is an animal that is having trouble getting adopted due to one or more behavioral issues. I was given a list of possible project dogs and asked to pick one .  It is my job to help the dog become more balanced so he has a better chance of adoption.  I will need to journal about him and what we are working on, maybe this is a good place to do it! I’ll let you know how it goes with Mr. Chaplin.

~they speak beautifully~

I have seen some amazing things in my short time here and there is so much I want to share with you.  I will continue to give updates (soon including videos) of what is going on here and what I am learning.  One thing I can not wait to tell you about and show you footage of is Parelli Training! Wow…Well more to come guys. Keep doing what you love, and let others know about it. 

More soon…

~how lucky we are to know the love of animals~

Please email me at heather@blinklove.org if you have any questions or if you would like to be removed from the email list. Thanks!

Responses

  1. Heather, it sounds like you are in the PERFECT place! You will get great training with the Best Friends organization that you will be able to use and build on for the rest of your life.

    I can’t wait to hear your comments about Parelli! I’ve been to two of the weekend long clinics and am in awe of Pat, Linda, Cam and their helpers, Gretchen and Dan. My friend Leann Walsh teaches the Parelli Method at Cozy Fox stables in Winston.

    Looking SO forward to following you in your new blog.

    Brook

  2. You 2 are BEAUTIFUL. Thanks for all you did for the organizations, and for all you are doing for the animals. It is people like you that truly make a difference.
    THANK YOU

  3. WHAT GREAT news! First to hear of the funds you raised for these three terrific causes, and then to hear what you are up to. Good for Stephen! (and hope he gets a little golf in) and can’t wait to hear the next installment of your time at Best Friends. Thanks for being who you are. We’re lucky to be sharing our time on the planet.


Leave a Reply

Categories

